And I would walk 500 more

My body doesn’t respond well to painkillers, I can take paracetamol (Panodil, Pamol & Alvedon) without any problems. Those are the mildest you can find in Sweden (that you don’t need to see a doctor to get). I can also take Tramadol, something that is a bit like morphine. I’m not too fond of it since I don’t like the clouded mind I get…

The problem here is that I currently have an injured back. A disk went bye-bye… That’s something you normally get really HEAVY pain medication for. Me? Suck it up, buddy! Yeah… Now, on the positive side, I’m surprisingly good at getting injured (you need to be the best at something, am I right?) so being in pain isn’t really something that’s new to me. I tend not to be too bothered by pain (unless it’s my neck or head!!! then it’s straight up KMN please…). But this time… the injury is really low, just a little above my tailbone, and it… is… killing… me… I can’t even put on trousers or a skirt, or even pants, without almost screaming from pain… It’s horrible!!

They told me to walk it off. Literally! Walking will help with recovery. And guess what, it also seem to be pretty good for the pain! It doesn’t make it go away, but it will lessen a bit while walking and for a little while after.

Wait… what was my point in writing this?

…. Right…

Since walking is the only thing I can do right now, I sat down yesterday and made a tracker for my “500 miles” walk.

Nooo, I’m not walking 500 miles in one go. I’m not THAT desperate from the pain! (Yet…)

I love, love, LOOOVE the song ‘500 miles’ by The Proclaimers (David Tennant and the staff from Doctor Who made that obsession even greater!). So I figured, 500 miles and then 500 more. That was ~ 160 swedish miles (metric miles). I do like walking. It’s something I can pretty much always do. Why the heck not?

I’m gonna walk 500 miles and the 500 more! Oh, and I must have a tracker in my bullet journal for it!

So here it is:

I know I’m not the best at drawing this, but I don’t care, I love it!

To the right, the face have x:es for eyes and then there’s sweat and then walking on hands and knees because, well, by then it HAS been 500 miles and 500 more!

The tiny bit of purple in the beginning is what I walked today, 8km. And as I wrote on my instagram ( @jeas_wellness ), “slut” is not me losing my marbles, it’s the swedish word for “finish/the end”.

I like it. It’s something fun that will help motivate me when everything is grey and sad and blaah.

Do you have fun motivaters such as this? Or other?

Leave a Reply

