I didn’t punch you for being an assole

“Hey, look at her, euw!”

Now this is a story all about how, my lunch got flipped-turned upside down. And I’d like to take  a minute, just sit right there. I’ll tell you how I wanted to punch a guy in the face.

Another day, Another walk. This one makes for a different blog post. I’d like to tell you about something that happened today. This is something that pretty much every overweight person get to hear at some point, I’m just one of the lucky once, I hardly ever get it.

It was a really nice walk, 130 minutes all together. We made two stops on the way. At lunch we decided to get something to eat before continuing on home. We ordered our food, we sat down, we started to at. And then I heard it. “Hey, look at her, euw!”
I turned to look at the people it came from, two of them turned their heads, faces all red.
There wasn’t sadness or anger or anything like that on my face, just a “make no misstake, I heard you, asshole!” I then continued with my food. The people didn’t talk as loudly after that.

About this situation, I have the following to say:
Helly, my name is Jeanette. I am 179cm tall, I weigh 87,3kg and that gives me a BMI of roughly 27. I am overweight.
This right here is what I look like when I sit down. This right here is my belly when I sit down. When I go out to eat, this is what people will see. I am ok with that. I am ok with how it looks. I don’t care. I love myself.
So why does other people think it is ok for THEM to ridicule me? Why do they HAVE to point it out to their friends? Why does my belly bother you that much? Why does it bother you at all? Why do you feel you and your friend need to laught at me?

If you truly feel like this behavour is ok and right, then why did you and your friend look away, faces all red, when I looked back at you? When you understood that I had heard you, you looked away, clearly ashamed. So you DID know what you did wasn’t ok? But then, why act in such a way?

Now, I don’t want you to worry, I’m fine. You didn’t hurt my feelings. You didn’t make me sad or want to cry. You didn’t ruin my day. You can relax! This time.
The next person you do this to, may react different. You have no idea how badly you can damage someone when saying such things about them!
The only thing you did to me, was making me want to punch you in the face (and I have a mean right hook). But I didn’t. I didn’t punch you for being an asshole. Because unlike you, I know right from wrong. I know how to behave and be a nice person.

To all of you who think that such behavour is ok, I have only one thing o add:

Now you go and have a nice day, ok?

Leave a Reply

