After sickness there’s health?

Sadly, I only mean that after fever, there is no fever 🙂

I’ve been home with a fever since tuesday and I’m finally doing better and can go back to work tomorrow. The problem with a fever when you have PoTS – is you have PoTS. The two doesn’t really go well together.

While being home and keeping the sofa company, I’ve eaten whatever I wanted to. I let go of the strict diet I need to stick to and just had what ever I felt like. My body is NOT happy with me now…
Tomorrow, or rather now, it’s back to normal again! I have my notebook next to me and I think the week that’s coming will go great… NOT! Why? Here’s why:

For the next few months, probably for the rest of the year, it will be hell. I’m not even joking! I mean HEEEELL!!
When you have PoTS, there are certain things you can do to help yourself. What these hings are depend on you and how bad your PoTS is!
Now, I work 50% – 4 hours/day and 5 days/week. And you know what – it’s hard! It’s really, really hard! I have to plan EVERYTHING. Every hour of every day!
I’m not saying it isn’t worth it, it is, very much so! But it’s exhausting. However, this is what I have to do to help my body, and to help my PoTS, and to be able to work those 4 hours a day!

So I plan my days. I go to bed at a certain time, even if I’m free the next day. I only eat certain things and avoid lots of food (that I love) and I only eat at specific times. I do some form of cardio every day and my strength training is currently taken care of at physical therapy. When that is over, I need to keep going at my regular gym.
I also need to plan my free time. What days can I meet other people to do something? When can I go shoping? How many hours do I have each day to do something? Etc.

When I plan everything, I know that I’m giving my body the best chances to cope. And belive me, it needs to cope with a lot of crap…
This way of living is still new to me. And it will take some time fo me to start feeling ok with it. Some people have said it took about 3 months of pure hell before their PoTS started to accept the changes. And well, I’m in hell. So I’m hoping it will take about 3 months for me too 🙂

Leave a Reply

