My thoughts on health

I used to think that health = eat veggies and move your body some. That’s it. And maybe for some people that relly is it. Health is one thing for me and one thing for someone else. If you like, you can take a minute to read what I think, how I feel. If you want, you can then share your own thoughts about the subject, I would love to read it!

After the doctors scared me in february, thinking I was having a heartattack (yeah, 33 years old here), I started thinking more and more about my health. Sure, I had lost some weight and I was ok with myself. But do I want to be just ok with myself or do I want to feel GREAT about myself? The latter, obviously!

Being healthy is, to me, so much more than just eating right and go for a walk every now and then. It’s listening to my body. What is it telling me? What does it really want? Becuase my brain is saying ‘hey, that chocolate in the next isle tastes pretty darn good!’ But is my body saying the same thing? No. When I eat chocolate my heart starts to race, I feel tired, I feel down and I don’t really feel like doing anything. So then it’s pretty obvious that I should listen to my body saying no, not hat irritating voice in the back of my head saying that I won’t feel like that this time. This time it will be better.

tortellini med sås

Good food. AND chocolate! Saying no to everything, all the time doesn’t work for me. So on saturdays I can eat what I feel like, IF I feel like it! By listening to what my body wants I don’t get cravings all the time anymore and that feels pretty good!
But let’s be honest here, it was NOT easy in the beginning!! Once the change had been made it was, but getting there… I focused on my physical health and what’s going on there and that made it easier for me.

But it’s not just about the body. It’s about the head too. How am I really feeling? Good? Down? Sad? Happy? Restless? Stressed?
If I don’t look out for my mental well being, all else is lost. I won’t be able to choose right for me and my body if I’m sad and feeling down. That will give me nothing but cravings. But how in the world do you stop yourself from feeling down?
Well… you don’t. You will get there sometimes. I dow hat I can to lessen the blow of bad days. I go for a walk every day, a really long one. The fresh air and all the wonderful things that can be seen along the way does wonders for me.
I take pictures, I look – I mean really LOOK. And I listen. I listen to the wind in the trees, the dogs barking, the birds flying by, kids laughing, people talking… I take in as much as I can and I think about how lucky I am to be here. To experience all these things. How lucky I am to live in a place where I can walk to the sea or walk to a field of grass or walk to a large pond with swans and ducks and geese.

Life is pretty great! And I intend to enjoy every bit of it!

Leave a Reply

